Everyone has something they hate to admit, for some it’s that they don’t like ice cream, for others it’s that they have never been abroad, but brace yourselves…

I, don’t have Facebook.

When most people ask me “what’s your facebook?” or “do you have facebook?” they expect a “why yes I do my Facebook is…” because we live in the internet generation where Facebook and other forms of social media are social norms and expectations. When I say “no” they give me a look of horror, as if I’ve just told them I stab people to pass the time or that I’ve just handed them a dead animal, they then exclaim “WHAT HOW CAN YOU NOT HAVE FACEBOOK?” “HOW DO YOU LIVE?” well I live very well thank you, Facebook doesn’t control my lungs or my heart does it? No. Facebook doesn’t control how my life works does it? No. There are no rules that every human must have a Facebook account, it was my choice to not have Facebook and for good reason as from what I’ve heard timelines go something like this;
Food
Complaining
Pregnancy
Relationships
Their “sick night out”
Complaining
Relationships

Why would I want this? Everyone who talks about Facebook says the same thing “it’s shit” so why is me admitting I have never had Facebook such a horrific truth? Does it really matter that I don’t update people about my non existant life? No, no it doesn’t.

Now I have admitted this maybe other non Facebook people can admit their lack of Facebook too, and we, can unite together and feel proud about our own decisions to have a Facebook free life.

So when the situation inevitably arises and someone asks if you have Facebook you can scream “NO, NO I DO NOT HAVE FACEBOOK” at them, then you can click your fingers, turn away and walk off flicking your hair
….

or if you aren’t as sassy and cool as Beyonce you can just say “no I don’t” .

Katherine ❤

Leave a Reply

