Well hello. This isn’t my usual upload day, and there is a reason for this, the long and short of it (that expression never really makes sense) is that yesterday on my normal upload day, my halls experienced a power cut, which meant I had no heat, light, internet, or electricity (surprise surprise), this meant I couldn’t write a post and upload it because no internet. However. I did get to stay in a hotel overnight for free, me in a hotel room for free!? I could not believe my luck, anywhere would be nicer than this room in halls.

This whole experience made me feel very grown up. I’ve never stayed in a hotel on my own before, so as I walked up to the hotel dragging my bag behind me I felt very grown up, like a famous who’s been paid to stay in a hotel, only less glamorous.
Check in was a confusing affair, who’s idea was it to make someone who’s carrying bags to start writing? You have to throw your stuff on the floor to fill in some forms, then you get given yet more things to hold and you have to somehow pick up the stuff you threw on the floor, and arrange them on you so you have your hands free to work the key card, you end up playing “Bucking Bronko” with yourself.
This is only the beginning.
As I have the worst luck I had to walk up 2 fights of stairs, with my hands full, to get to my room, and when I got there, the key card wouldn’t work. These key cards are so annoying to use no matter how fast or slow you put it in (don’t be disgusting), the light still goes red. So, you put all you stuff on the floor in a massive pile and spend the next 10 minutes putting the card in the reader, then waiting for it to go green. When it eventually does go green you find yourself stuck, how to I push the door open, without falling over and thus knocking over my bags? You find yourself shuffling yourself into the room, with the bags between your legs. Don’t expect to be able to see what you’re doing though, the lights are never on and because you don’t know the room you end up stroking the wall in order to find the lightswitch, by time you do find the lightswitch and switch it on you look down and see your stuff is all over the floor.

My room itself was amazing, the bathroom was the size of my uni room bedroom, and the bed, was wider than I am tall. Seriously, the bed was massive and amazingly comfy. There was of course, the classic toilet roll with the pointy tip, the bible in the drawer, the mini shower gels and shampoos, mini shower cap, towel rail with several towels on, mini shoe shine sponge in a drawer(I KNOW I COULDN’T BELIEVE IT) and the classic tea and coffee facility with mini shortbread. But as a result of this, I ended up drinking 2 cups of hot chocolate and 6 cups of tea in the space of 14 hours. I don’t even like tea that much, but it was free and the cups were tiny so I couldn’t help myself. I didn’t understand why the cups were so small though. Because you could barely fit the teabags or the hot chocolate powder in the mugs. Which meant I had to use a teapot to make the tea and hot chocolate meaning I had no choice but to have so many drinks. The hotel experience itself was amazing but I am now missing the comfy bed and the bath more than I imagined I would be…

Right. Now I’ve got to sort out an insurance claim on the food that was ruined due to the powercut, yes, you heard that right. INSURANCE CLAIM. Me, being a grown up with insurance claims and hotel rooms and university and rent and weekly shops and existential crises.

Leave a Reply

