In this culture we associate a lot of things with wishes, blowing out candles on a birthday cake, seeing a shooting star, a fallen eyelash, it’s almost like wishes are being thrust upon you on a day to day basis (don’t laugh at the word thrust). You’d be forgiven for thinking they can’t come true.

But they can.

Over the last few years of my life the “fangirl” part of me has grown and with that has my use of the phrase “I wish” and over the last few years these wishes have started to come true. I’ve seen favourites live which are experiences I never expected, I’ve met some of them which makes me so happy even though I struggle to believe it ever happened, and I’ve made the best friends I always wished for through being fans of celebrities. Truthfully, I’m the happiest I have ever been and those celebrities and those friends are the reasons why.

I’ve always been one for wishing, but those were for trivial things, such as “I wish *insert name of an ex-best friend here* would stop being such a massive knob” (didn’t work) or “I wish I could pass this exam” (did work) and as you can see they had varying success levels. But a part of me always feels like a failure, so I wanted to make all the things I strive for a success to try and stop me feeling so negative. So I decided I would start reading up on quotes to help me think more positively and help me to believe in myself, my wishes, my hopes and my dreams a little bit more, and I know a lot of people, including my family, think quotes are stupid but honestly they really have helped, things like
“she turned her “cants” into “cans” and her wishes into plans”
and
“Don’t be pushed by your problems; be led by your dreams…”
and my all time favourite
“laughter is timeless, imagination has no age and dreams are forever”

Over the last few years I’ve made wishes I expected to not come true, and they have, and I truly believe even more can come true in the future.

So when you sit there thinking of something you want to happen more than anything, remember, wishes can come true, you just need the courage to persue them.

Leave a Reply

