Hello,

That title was an attempt at a play on the title of The Script song “Hall of Fame” because this post is about my time in university halls… I won’t lie it probably could have been better.

I was already terrified at the prospect of moving away, and being thrown into the halls I was ended up in, my worst fears were realised. I was surrounded by people I don’t get on with, in a flat that smelt of bins and rotting dishes. The last 8 or so months have been the most challenging months of my life, surrounded by people and noise but feeling like I was completely alone. I’ve felt isolated, annoyed and panicky almost all of the time and I’m pretty sure this flat has given me diseases.

But during these 8 months I’ve been able to do some amazing things, like meet some of my internet friends and meet some of my favourites, these days made me so, so happy and they wouldn’t have been possible without moving into halls.

Just talking to internet friends online has made me feel like I actually wasn’t alone. They may not realise it, but in the simple act of saying hello, they made me forget that I was actually alone. I listened to Radio 1 before I came to uni, but since moving I’ve spent so much more time listening to the radio and hearing the same voices, like Greg James, Scott Mills and Chris Stark, every day was a comfort. It felt like I wasn’t alone in my room, but was sat in my room with a friend (albeit one that doesn’t listen to me when I speak). I’ve watched programmes like Would I Lie To You, Not Going Out, Michael McIntyre’s Chat Show, 8 Out of 10 Cats Does Countdown and Miranda again and they’ve made me laugh just as much as they did the first time.

I can finally move out at the end of the week and I cannot wait, although I do feel very sorry for the next poor soul who has to have my flat, they’re going to end up living with the ghost of maggots.

Leave a Reply

