I love the summer time. The sun is shining, birds are singing and the skies are clear, although as I write this it’s raining but let’s pretend I didn’t say that.

However. There is a problem with this time of year. The pervs.

I love wearing dresses and shorts over summer, as many other girls do (I won’t say women, that makes me feel far too grown up), but this results in getting quite a lot of unwanted attention from men.

This attention can come in a variety of ways. Over the last few months I’ve had this:

Men beeping their car horns, I don’t know what they think this will achieve, I have no interest in old Renault Clios or Golfs with go faster stripes and exhausts the size of bins from Poundland. If you want a fast car, buy a fast car, don’t modify a broken one you’ll just end up in a lake or up a tree.
Men shouting things like “oi oi” from scaffolding, not only is this intimidating but they can’t even see me properly, so all they’re basically shouting at is someone that looks like a woman.
Men watching you from the drivers seat of their cars turning their heads to follow you like pervy owls, mate, I can see you looking because you’re behind something transparent called a window, you’re not being subtle, you’re being an arse.
Men saying the words “you look rather gorgeous today”. Thanks, but no thanks

Why do they think this is okay?! It’s not like we go outside with signs saying “please stare at me”. Just stop.

2 thoughts on “The Season of the Perv

  1. I like to dress smart, and look my best whenever going out the house, for two reasons:

    1) to feel good about myself, and confident
    2) attract female attention which builds confidence.

    Read your blog with interest, can understand feeling intimidation from men on scaffolding, or honking horns, but if I drive l past a female, and think she is nice looking, I’m bound to look and often find myself staring….admittedly this turns to embarressment from my part and I then feel awkward. But it’s just attraction πŸ™‚

    Hope you feel a little easier walking down the path next time, enjoy knowing people might find you attractive whilst probably not looking and thinking what sort of weirdo you could be!

Leave a Reply

