I’ve been doing a lot of thinking recently. And by thinking, I mean existential crisis-ing. And it’s making me realise that time, despite what Madonna once said, goes by quickly.

What a fabulous surname this man has
What a fabulous surname this man has

The first week of September 2015 is already over, I’ve already completed my first year of uni and I still have no idea about what I want to do with my life. I go through phases where I think I’ve decided what I’d like to do, then I think about it some more and ask myself “but are you doing it for the right reasons Katherine?” to which I’ll reply (saying I’m replying to myself makes me sound mad) “oh god, no I don’t think I am, I haven’t got any talents to make any positive changes on the world”. Then the crisis begins. Again.

I think this is the wrong sort of question to ask yourself. You should be asking “will this make me truly happy?”. The main goal in life is to be happy, if you can look back and say “yeah that was actually really fun, that made me so happy” then you’ve done it right.

Basically sums my entire blog post up, so you might as well stop reading (I'm joking please keep reading)
Basically sums my entire blog post up, so you might as well stop reading (I’m joking please keep reading)

If like me, you don’t know what you want to do as a career, try not to let it drag your mood down, just focus on enjoying what you’re doing right now. I love writing this blog, and I love talking to/seeing my friends, I love my favourite celebrities (some say too much but we’ll ignore that) and I’m loving learning at university (most of the time).

I'm going to throw some inspirational quotes at you, here is one of them
I’m going to throw some inspirational quotes at you, here is one of them

Living in the moment is something I need to work on. I need to stop worrying about everything. You can’t change the past and the future hasn’t been decided yet. I didn’t write this post with the intention of making you have an existential crisis, I wrote it, to be honest with you, to try and make me less crisis-y. But I hope it helps you too, I’m nice like that.

I'll stop throwing quotes at you now
I’ll stop throwing quotes at you  now
Leave a Reply

