I am one of those people who has already sorted out most of their Christmas shopping. Partly because I like being organised and partly because buying things for other people is immensely satisfying for me.

However, Christmas shopping is quite possibly one of the most stressful things ever, especially when you’re 1) a poor student and 2) shopping on your own. Last weekend I was both of these things.

The first stressful thing, is the “what the hell am I going to buy them?” thoughts. Or maybe even worse “where the hell am I going to find it?”. This Saturday I spent the majority of the day walking round town muttering “where can I buy nice truffles from?” which makes me look mental. If you’re wondering I found some lovely ones in the end in M&S.

The next stressful thing is the people. Every town centre becomes SO busy as soon as Christmas rears its festive head. Christmas is still a month away and I literally nearly walked into about 9 people. Primark is the worst for this, why do people think it’s okay to stop in the middle of an aisle to have a discussion, NO it is not the time nor the place, please stand aside so I can get on with my day.

The weather also makes shopping challenging, when it’s raining, your stuff gets wet, if it’s windy your bags get blown into your face/passers by/down the street, if it’s cold your hands and arms get numb. If it’s all three then you might as well give up.

The fact you need to bring your own bags means you’re restricted with the number of bags you can actually carry, so this means you have to pile everything into one or two bags meaning they become heavy and end up breaking your arm. They also get fatter which means you can knock people/dogs/stands over. Like I did in New Look, when I knocked over an entire stand of clutch bags then got wedged inbetween the two stands while the sales assistant picked up the bags I knocked over as I couldn’t even pick them up myself. Yes it’s as embarrassing as it sounds.

Leave a Reply

