Christmas is just around the corner, and to celebrate I thought I would tell you what my top 5 Christmas songs are, you’re welcome.

The first one I love is Step Into Christmas, by the legendary Elton John. I know it’s old fashioned but this song is just so upbeat and jolly, it always makes me smile.

….although the start of the video is a little bit odd.

This one is probably an obvious choice, it’s The Pogues, featuring Kirsty MacColl with¬†Fairytale of New York. I don’t know anyone who doesn’t like this song. Although some of the lyrics make no sense at all, it still fills me with festiveness (is that a word? It is now).

I know I’ve mentioned Michael McIntyre so many times you’re probably sick of it, but he did a great version of this a few years ago (I still listen to it every Christmas, I’m not weird).

The next choice is Mulled Wines by Radio 1’s Greg James and Chris Smith (with the news). This is basically a Christmas version of Robin Thickes Blurred Lines. Fun fact, I love it so much that it’s actually the first song I listen to when I start to feel Christmassy.

From one Radio 1 song to another, Scott Mills and Chris Stark wrote a Christmas song with the help from pop-comedy duo Frisky and Mannish called The Perfect Christmas Single. It’s basically a mix of all the best parts of Christmas songs done in the classic Scott Mills way.

Choosing this final song is surprisingly hard, there are so many incredible Christmas songs out there. But after much deliberation, my fifth song is going to be Wizard’s I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday. As soon as you hear the creepy “are you ready children?” and you see the incredible hairstyles in the video, you know Christmas is here.

Leave a Reply

