This week marks the end of my teenage years. This Saturday I turn the big 2-0. It’s crazy to think that I won’t be saying the suffix “teen” when someone asks me how old I am anymore. I know it’s not something I should be shocked about because getting older isn’t exactly a surprise, but it just seems to have flown by.

I thought for this post I would tell you the things I’ve learnt while being a teenager.

  1. Friends aren’t always all they cracked up to be. I’ve come across so many fake people in my teen years it’s almost laughable, but I think it’s helped me figure out who I am and who I really can get along with.
  2. Despite what teachers say. The internet isn’t always a scary place. The amount of times we were told not to talk to people online because they were almost certainly perverts. Well that was not the case for me.
  3. It is okay to like being on your own. There’s a lot of peer pressure for people to have big social circles, but you just don’t need them. I have more fingers than close friends, but that’s okay.
  4. Don’t overpluck your eyebrows. Trust me on this one. I think thin eyebrows were a trend in my school and I am still living with the consequences now. Just leave them be.
  5. You don’t need to know what career you want to be seen as “on track.” Take time to find out what you love.
  6. Time management is the key to surviving education. The sooner you start something the sooner it’s over.
  7. If you think you’re the only one not to have done something the chances are you’re not. Taking things steady is never a bad thing.
  8. Try not to wear hideous clothes for the last day of term *cough* I’m talking to you young me *cough* you’ll regret it everytime you look at the pictures.

And now I thought I’d show you some photos of young teen me, you’ll see I look exactly the same.

 

2013-04-25 17.08.29

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The End of an Era

Leave a Reply

