I haven’t done one of these for months so I thought today would be a great time to tell you my current top 5 songs. As usual some will be old, some will be new, but hopefully you’ll love these ones!

My first one is a song I have been a little bit obsessed with lately. Tilted by Christine and the Queens. This song is so beautiful, not in a ballady kind of a way, but in an upbeat kind of way. It’s got a continued drive and such a catchy beat, if you don’t nod your head along then are you even listening? The French in it makes me feel a little bit more cultured too. The video is also incredible, it really stands out amongst the pop music videos.

 

My next one is a little bit older than Tilted. But equally as catchy. We Are Golden by Mika is one of my teenage classics, it’s catchy and bouncy and uplifting with a surprisingly positive message. Like a magpie I live for glitter not you. Oh I miss Mika…

My third current favourite is another recent song, and is Anne-Marie Alarm. I’ve never heard of her before but I really like her voice. The video is also really cool. If you’ve seen the Baz Luhrmann Romeo and Juliet (if you did GCSE English you probably did) you’ll notice the subtle references. And you know me I love a subtle reference.

The next song I’ve been listening to constantly is The Maccabees Marks to Prove It. I was really sad to hear that the band was coming to an end but the news reminded me about how much I loved this song, it’s got such a great tune behind the incredible vocals. It’s one of those songs that suits every mood.

My final song is Do I Wanna Know by the Arctic Monkeys. I think is is one of those songs that everyone can listen to and enjoy, even if this genre isn’t usually your thing. The lyrics are quite poignant but the amazing guitar really keeps the mood up. I just bloody love this band.

What do you think of my 5 songs? Which songs have you been loving lately?

Leave a Reply

