Seeing as I hate Halloween, but don’t want to be hated by everyone, I thought now would be a really good time to talk about one of my guilty pleasures. You may be like, “um what has this got to do with Halloween?” well, it’s a little bit different to most people’s ideas of guilty pleasures, it’s not TOWIE or Big Brother. My guilty pleasure is documentaties about mythical creatures. Let me explain…

I am a big fan of a mystery, and there is no greater mystery than UFOs, Bigfoot, Nessie, etc etc etc. And there is nothing I enjoy more than settling down to watch an hour long documentary about said mythical animals in order to come to a conclusion as to what the sightings/footprints could be. These documentaries are clever in the sense that, they NEVER give you an answer at the end, they just make you think about the possibilities, and I bloody love it. Growing up I used to watch something called The Monster Hunter (you may have known it as Destination Truth, which in my eyes is a shoddy title), which although scared me, it wasn’t a horror film scare (which I hate) it was a nice scare, made with anticipation and CGI.  I can’t find this show anywhere and I think it died a low ratings death, but in my eyes it was incredible. I learnt all about “real life” vampires and rivers filled with deathly creatures and flying monsters that kidnapped babies. None of it was appropriate for young me to be watching. If you’re keen to read up on the episodes here’s a link to the wiki page, you’re welcome.

I have been known to watch channel 4 documentaries on such mythical creatures instead of doing things I’m meant to be, like essays or sleep. But who cares, it’s learning…right?

I’m not sure if I believe in any of these creatures, I mean, part of me loves the idea that some dinosaurs survived the extinction, part of me knows that is impossible. But things like Bigfoot…well, I think there’s something in it. There are always new creature discoveries, so maybe a giant ape is one of them? Or maybe it’s just a case of mistaken identity. We’ll never know…

Does anyone else watch these? Or have a guilty pleasure that’s equally as weird? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

