Hello, welcome back to my blog. It’s my first post of the year *cute fanfare* and I thought I’d start it with a little fun post about my rather lovely long weekend.

This Sunday I was able to see Jack Whitehall live, a comedian I’ve been a fan of for a few years now, but one I’ve never been able to see live, until this very weekend. Jack did three shows in Bournemouth, and after much deliberation, I got a ticket to see his matinee performance. I’ve never been to a matinee show before, let alone a comedy one, and the fact I went inside the venue while it was (relatively) light outside was a bit odd. Nevertheless, the atmosphere inside was still the same as a normal 8pm show, if anything, it was a smaller crowd and felt a little more exlusive. Jack wasn’t the only comedian we saw, he had a great warm up on called Lloyd Griffith who both told jokes and sang. Then, when he’d done his set the lighting went dark, and Jack’s tour intro video played. I need to tell you how much I loved that video. I don’t want to spoil it, but you will see some familiar faces, and hear some great music. I shall say no more. On the subject of media, alongside his jokes, he shows photos to go along with them. I’ve never seen anyone do this, so this alone was very exciting. All in all I really enjoyed his set, his jokes were more divisive than I imagined, but at no point crossed the line (in my opinion). Then after a long time (and I do mean long) he’d finished his second show of the day, his third and final show overall, and I was able to meet him. The poor guy seemed overwhelmed at the slight,um, mob situation (I hasten to add I wasn’t part of the running or mobbing, I’m very against that behaviour but that’s a rant for another day) he also looked tired and was actually quite quiet, but he still took the time to have a picture with everyone and sign everyones tickets, so good on him. I do want to try and meet him again someday, to try and catch him in a more calm scenario.

Then on the Monday (which isn’t the weekend but feels like it) I made the journey to London and saw, yep you guessed it, Michael McIntyre. This time I met up with a uni friend who’d never been to one of his shows before, so I felt like the pressure was on. Meeting Michael was, as usual, a pleasure and I think it was one of my favourite times with him, we hugged and chatted for what felt like ages, it just felt like I could be myself with him, it made everything a little bit better. I’m so grateful for these opportunities with him (sorry I’ll stop with the cringe now). In terms of material there isn’t much to say, not because he didn’t have any material, despite his claims of “not having any jokes” he had loads, there isn’t much to say because it was just as funny, and enjoyable as every other time I’ve been lucky enough to see him. The man really knows his stuff.

I hope you all had a nice Christmas and New Year! Oh and as always, feel free to send me ideas about posts you’d like me to do.

Leave a Reply

