We sleep for 1/3 of our lives, yet for most people, at some point in their lives struggle with it, and I think the struggling time for me is now. As if 2017 wasn’t bad enough, I’m unable to sleep properly. THANKS WORLD!

I don’t know what has caused it, I’m not that stressed about anything, and my anxiety hasn’t been any worse that normal. But I find myself unable to fall asleep, waking up during the night, and then not having the energy to get out of bed in the morning.

So I am embarking on a little experiment. I am going to start a new evening routine. Instead of staying up watching things on my laptop, then getting in bed to watch things on my phone. I’m going to do a no screen policy after 10:30 (afer 10 would be good, but may be a struggle). I’ve set tomorrows alarm in advance, and instead of screens in bed I’m going to read. When I struggled to sleep in halls, I watched ASMR in bed and I would fall alseep to it. For some reason now, I can’t do that anymore, I kind of watch it as if it’s the TV and not a calming aid. Although some people can fall asleep to TV or radio, I am sadly not one. It’s a well known fact that screens before bed aren’t the best, they strain your eyes (god knows how people cope with screens at full brightness, I struggle on the lowest) and they increase brain activity. I am also not going to eat after 9pm. I’ve tried this before but I am a prolific snacker and it was very challenging. In terms of book for reading, I’ve gone for childrens books. Now before you all think I’m weird my logic is that they’ll be easy reads and won’t be so gripping I’ll end up staying up till 2am trying to get to the end of a good bit. Stop judging me.

So I am testing this new regime out, in the hope that I can maybe help one of you in fixing your sleepless nights. I shall do a review post next week. ‘Till then, goodnight!

 

Leave a Reply

