Staying motivated at uni (or indeed at any point in education) is no easy task, there’s all the deadlines and the constant pressure to do better than everyone else, the fear of failure, and the thoughts about the future. However staying motivated is important, when you start losing the will to carry on it’s when things start to go wrong, trust me, I’ve been there.  I thought I would share a few tips and tricks to staying on task and motivated:

  1. Time flies
    I know you might not want to hear this when it comes to deadlines, but when you can’t really be arsed with your degree you need to remember uni flies by. It feels like my three whole years have gone by in just one. When you think about how far you’ve come and how quickly that went you’ll realise it’ll be over before you know it.
  2. ASAP
    I always start work as soon as possible, I really believe the sooner you start the sooner you can finish.
  3. Notes
    However it’s never easy starting an essay, especially when you hate the topic. If you just start with some note taking, about anything you think might be relevant, you’ll be surprised how much of it you can naturally form into longer sentences and paragrpahs, before you know it you’ll have an essay.
  4. Pre-deadlines
    Set your deadline a day or two before the actual deadline, then you can guarantee you’ll finish in time which means less stress for you at the end.
  5. Plan ahead
    Schedule in when you want to tackle your assignments, there’s always a way to stop yourself from writing two essays at once. So, for example, I have a deadline on the 2nd of April, and I’ve schduled March to be the time of writing. My May deadline is to be written over the Easter holidays. Etc.
  6. You are doing FINE
    I think the person who is judging you the most is you, degrees aren’t meant to be easy (or fun I’d argue) but the fact you managed to get onto the degree shows you have potential. Even if you think your grades say otherwise, and that they’ll never get better, they can and they will.
  7. Treat yoruself
    I spoke to my grandma on the phone today and she said something that resonated with me, “if you don’t treat yourself no-one else will” and I think this is so important. You should reward yourself after all your achievements. Made a good start on an essay? Treat. Handed in an assignment a day early? Treat. Got a first in a presentation? Treat. Even if you think there’s no free time for it. You can make time.
Leave a Reply

