I went skinny jeans shopping today. Which was an error. It took me over 2 hours to find a pair of jeans that fit in the waist (which by the way, is more like the stomach otherwise I’d look like I’d shat myself), the leg (too baggy or unable to be removed) and the length (I’m short so anything over 30inches and they end up like shoes.) In the end I resorted to the childrens section where there were jeans for 16 year olds that fit me… make of that what you will.

But my hatred towards shopping for jeans isn’t what this post is about is body size and confidence. I’m sure we all have our own things that when it comes to what we do and we don’t like. But there was a common theme in the womens changing rooms. In the two hours (TWO) I was in there I heard numerous comments relating to womens sizes. Particulary to do with “fat.” One comment that stuck with me was:

“I need something to hide my wobbley bits”

Two words there we need to focus on. Need and hide. Why do we live in a society where people feel ashamed about themselves, to the extent where they feel so judged by other people they need to hide certain parts of themselves in order to fit in. The word need is so strong, it’s like she has no alternatives, no say at all in the matter. She has to cover up or face consequences. It should be up to her what clothes she wants to wear, not needs to wear. Or maybe the pressure is coming from herself, and the feeling of embarrassment.  It makes me so sad that so many of us feel self-conscious. Including myself. I think there needs to be a change in how bodies are perceived. I don’t know how because I haven’t got to that stage of feeling confident, but there must be a way for every body to have love and respect for their own bodies, as well as other peoples. You only get one body, one brain and one life so you might as well love it as much as you can.

Leave a Reply

