In one months time I will have finished being in education. Completely done. I don’t know if anyone else has gone through this/is going through this, but I for one cannot get my head around the fact that over a decade of my life has been spent in education and now it’s drawing to a close.

From being in education for so long, I’m not really sure what to expect with suddenly having no homework and to going into full time employment. I mean, I’ve had full time employment before, when I did my placement, but it was only short-term and at the end of the day, it was just a placement, I was going into education when I’d finished. So, I am basically in an existential crisis, stuck between “yay freedom and happiness and mental wellbeing” and a fear of societal pressure and the potential of remaining unemployed for all of time.

I’m sure this feeling is something we all, well, feel, and I think the lack of solid careers advice doesn’t help matters. As young school children we’re encouraged to go to uni, given one careers meeting where they talk about the imporance of having a good CV without telling you what this is, then they say bye and you’re off on your merry way into a physics lesson. There’s no help with anything and it’s scary. Especially if you don’t have any future plans at all. I mean, I had no idea what I wanted to do for a job at all during school, despite the people around me being confident in their dreams of working with children or as a doctor, I had nothing.  I flitted between loads of different ideas, but nothing felt right.

Luckily now I have a career goal in mind, but the path isn’t going to be a straight jolly walk. I am expecting a full blown hike through dense undergrowth with cobwebs and spiders lurking. And that’s just the job hunting process. But I am confident that I have the skills to make it to the end of the march, after all, I do love my countryside hikes.

So what has uni taught me?

Well, I now know what a panic attack feels like. An odd lesson I grant you, but it’s given me the chance to actually understand mental health problems so much more. It’s given me the chance to practice my speed writing thanks to those times in lectures where the slide is about to change yet there are still lines left that I haven’t copied down. It’s given me the chance to learn exciting and fascinating theories behind things like, fan culture, interpersonal communication and gender roles in advertising. It’s taught me that I love coach journeys, I’ve been able to travel all around the UK during my three years thanks to the loan and kind timetabling. I’m stronger mentally than I ever imagined, being able to juggle three, four, five assignments, mental health, food shopping and trying to stay social all at the same time. I suppose it’s given me more time, three more years of figuring myself out.

And now it’s drawing to a close. So I suppose it’s a thank you and goodbye university.
Thank you, and goodbye x

Leave a Reply

