I’m just going to get this over with as soon as possible.

I talk to myself.

Before you all start phoning a psychiatrist I just want to clarify this isn’t me muttering disturbing poems or chanting. I’m literally just talking things through to myself. I hope I am not the only one who does this. Let me explain in more detail.

I love planning my day and doing lists in my head, however I also find it very handy to say these outloud to myself as I get ready in the morning. So I’ll be walking round my house or brushing my hair telling myself the plan for the day. As someone who spends quite a lot of time by themselves, talking aloud just gives me a chance to talk in general, if I’m thinking about something I have found interesting or annoying I’ll discuss these outloud, with myself. This has the added benefit of not having to talk to somebody who disagrees with you. I’ve also started to catch myself doing this outside, which can be problematic, especially when walking down a busy road. And then there’s just the standard singing and laughing along to the radio or to a podcast, which I grant you can look weird, but having over-ear headphones kind of helps this as it makes it a little clearer to other people that I’m not just laughing to myself as I walk down a road. At least I hope it does.

Please let me know if this is normal. Please.

2 thoughts on “Talking to Myself

Leave a Reply

