Yesterday I spent my day at the seaside, which is something I don’t do very often. Usually when I go to the beach, I’m with my family and it’s not a relaxing experience, it’s a hike. So, to actually spend a few hours sat on the beach was very rare and very enjoyable.

I spent the day with one of my friends from college, which was a lot of fun. For the most part. As romanticised as it is, the beach is definitely not all it’s cracked up to be.

The sand. It gets everywhere. If not on your food, then in your food. It gets in your shoes and socks, and basically every item of fabric you bring, including the beach towel. It’s in your eyes, hair, nose, between your toes where it will remain for at least 5 weeks,  (this also rhymes which is very pleasing yet unintentional.)

Good luck standing up and leaving the beach. If you want to flap your towel you better check the wind speed and direction first otherwise you’ll go blind. You should also be aware of the people around you, as they will also go blind.

We also had a frisbee thrown in our direction which very nearly landed on the flaming BBQ which is a health and safety disaster.

Also, make sure you wear suncream but, for gods sake, do not apply it when you’re on the beach. My friend made that mistake and just ended up sticking sand to herself, as if it was some kind of exfoliating mask. It’s not.

BBQs on the beach have their upsides, for example they are cheaper than going out for dinner, and it means you can have as much food as you want. But they have downsides. Namely being the constant fear of being in charge of a small fire in a public space, surrounded by children and seagulls. I was genuinely worried for my safety when the wind started to blow the flames in my direction. And don’t get me started on lighting the disposable BBQ.

 

Leave a Reply

