That is the question. How nerdy do I sound right now?!

Now I’ve finished uni I’ve got more time for books, which makes me very happy as reading is one of my favourite things to do. I haven’t talked about my love of reading on here before so I thought now would be the perfect time to tell you why, and who, I love to read.

For me, reading is a form of escapism. It’s a chance for me to ignore the world. If I’m reading, then I’m not looking at Twitter moments or thinking about job applications or thinking about Nectar points. I can concentrate on a new person in a new world. This means that it’s pretty relaxing, hence why my favourite places to read are in the bath (I’ve never dropped a book, though I have dropped my bookmark a few times), in bed or in the car (obviously whilst you’re a passenger and if you don’t get carsick.)

These locations also make reading pretty convenient, it’s during an activity you’re already doing, so it means you’re not having to find specific time to read. Nothing is worse than being too busy to read.

Reading also allows you to use your imagination, so much more than a TV show or a film. You’re in charge of how everything looks, from what colour the sky is, to what colour hair a character may have, it makes every story unique to you. It makes reading magical.

inspiring-quotes-on-reading-books-L-2L_0J6

And now to my favourite authors. Growing up my favourites were A.A Milne for Winnie-the-Pooh, Beatrix Potter for Peter Rabbit, Jill Barklem’s Brambly Hedge series (there appears to be an animal theme, make of that what you will.) Then when I was older I loved Enid Blyton for The Famous Five, Cathy Hopkins and the Mates, Dates series (who remembers these?!), Louise Rennison and the Georgia Nicolson series (I literally just Googled her and have found out she died last year so I’m now feeling very sad)  and of course Jacqueline Wilson. And now, there’s Sophie Kinsella, Caitlin Moran, Jane Costello, Carol Mathews, Lucy-Anne Holmes, Catherine Alliott and of course, my new love, Agatha Christie. Then there are so many autobiographies which are captivating and new releases that I’m so excited to read.

 

I hope I haven’t bored you too much. I would like to know your answer to the question posed in the title of the blog post.

 

 

 

 

 

RIP Louise. Thank you for the stories.

Leave a Reply

